top of page

Remember Valentine's Day in Elementary School?

Valentine's day in Elementary school is the pits. I remember it well! So I post this poem every few years or so. Why? It makes me laugh at that awkward time. As you read it, you'll recognize that I put myself in the shoes of an elementary aged boy. I see hm in 3rd grade or so!) Do you have memories of Valentine's day in Elementary school?

February 14

By Donna Earnhardt

On this icky, yucky day

No one asks if it’s okay

To fill our class with nasty pink

It makes me sick and I would think

that anyone who likes this day

might need to see a doctor --

HEY!

What’s this doing On my desk?

A card and candy? How grotesque!

But wait, The candy isn’t pink!

Maybe, maybe…It won’t stink

So I’ll just have a bite or two

And read the card....it can’t be true!

But yes, it is, 'cause now I see

That Heidi has her eyes on me.

I can’t believe What I have done!

I took the bait -- I should have run

I missed the sign I crossed

The line…Now Heidi is

my Valentine.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page